Skip to main content

Florida Parishes

A parish is Louisiana's equivalent to a county; eight of them are collectively referred to as the "Florida Parishes:" East and West Feliciana, East Baton Rouge, Livingston, St. Helena, St. Tammany, Tangipahoa, and Washington. They are bounded by the state of Mississippi to the north and east, by the Mississippi River to the west, and by Bayou Manchac and Lake Pontchartrain to the south (see map). In colonial days, they fell within the Spanish Territory of West Florida, and for a few months in 1910, before annexation into the United States, they were the Republic of West Florida, hence their present designation, Florida Parishes.

The Florida

Read Full Article

Support the Folklife Festival, Smithsonian Folkways Recordings, sustainability projects, educational outreach, and more.